Georgia Bulldogs win championship since 1980 season


The key signature came with 54 seconds left in the game.  Georgia's cornerback Kelee Ringo intercepted a pass from Alabama's quarterback and Heiman winner Bryce Young and returned it for a 79 yard touchdown.  The Georgia Bulldogs win 333-18 over the defending champions, Alabama Crimson Tide.  It is the first national title won for Georgia since 1980.  

There were two big stories in which the chapter closed.  Georgia's quarterback Stetson Bennett, a former walk-on, had his ups and downs throughout his collegiate career.  Georgia head coach Kirby Smart could never figure out how to beat his former boss, Alabama head coach Nick Saban.  Finally, they were able to get over the hump and win at the biggest stage of them all.