The 86th Intercontinental Champion


The Intercontinental Championship is considered the second best longest period after the WWE Championship.  Chris Jericho holds the record for being the nine-time champion.  The first to hold it was Pat Patterson in 1979.  The Honky Tonk Man holds the longest reign with 454 days and wrestlers like Pedro Morales, Don Muraco, and Randy Savage held it for more than a year.  

Tonight, A.J. Styles becomes the 86th and the new Intercontinental Champion by defeating Daniel Bryan in the Vacant IC Tournament on Smackdown.